Back to Top

Women & Men
21 - 30 August 2015

Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre,
Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

Women & Men | 21 - 30 August 2015

Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park


Women's Teams

The top eight women’s national hockey teams in Europe will compete in the EuroHockey Championships in London in 2015, promising a tournament full of excitement and drama. The qualifiers for the event are already known based on their standings in the 2013 Championships, with eleven different nations being represented.

England are playing with a home advantage eight years after they last hosted the event in Manchester where England’s women came third while Germany came out on top. Germany will be one of the main teams to watch out for as they won the title at the last Championship in Boom, Belgium in 2013.




Belgium’s best finish was fourth in Boom in 2013, narrowly missing out on a medal after they drew with Germany in the bronze play-off and losing to penalties. World-class midfielder Barbara Nelen was in that game, and she’ll be looking to help her team to the top.



England women have a good career in Eurohockey: winners in 1991, Silver medallists in London (Pickets Lock) in 1987 and Boom in 2013, and six times bronze medallists. With Alex Danson in attack in Maddie Hinch in goal, they’ve got some of the best players in the world on their side for EuroHockey 2015.



Spain have never been above second in Eurohockey, having been twice silver medallists – in Amstelveen in 1995 and Barcelona in 2003. They’re no strangers to top international success though, having been Olympic Champions in 1992, and their top player Lola Riera is someone to be feared when she’s drag-flicking.



Like the men, Germany are championship holders after success in Boom in 2013. Also champions in Manchester in 2007 and medallists in all bar one of the other nine tournaments to be run, they’re one of the top teams in the competitons. Keep a look out for Lisa Hahn – she was a youngster when playing at London 2012, and after taking some time off to have a baby she’s now back and better than ever.



Up-and-comers Italy are back in the EuroHockey Championships after winning the 2013 Championship II division. Their best finish was seventh in 2007, but they’re always surprising their opponents on the pitch, such as when they beat the USA (ranked eight places above them) at the Investec World League Semi Final in 2013.



Champions in eight of the eleven tournaments that have been staged to date and the world women’s number one, the Netherlands are a force to be reckoned with. Their top player has to be Maartje Paumen, team captain and expert drag-flicker, named FIH Player of the Year in 2011 and 2012.



Poland are newcomers to the EuroHockey Championships top flight, having finished runners-up in the 2013 Championship II division. They’ve got a strong indoor team, and as their coach is responsible for both the indoor and outdoor squads they can be expected to carry over some of their inside success to EuroHockey 2015.



Having competed in nine out of the eleven tournaments with a best finish of fifth in 1991, Scotland are always right next to the top cut and medals. They’ll aim for the top of the tables, and with 2012 Olympian Emily Maguire on their side and Nikki Kidd a danger from penalty corners they’ll doing their best to beat last year’s sixth.



Commercial partnership opportunities are currently available – enquire here