Back to Top

Women & Men
21 - 30 August 2015

Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre,
Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

Women & Men | 21 - 30 August 2015

Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park


Mens Teams

The top eight men’s national hockey teams in Europe will compete in the EuroHockey Championships in London in 2015, promising a tournament full of excitement and drama. The qualifiers for the event are already known based on their standings in the 2013 Championships, with eleven different nations being represented.

England are playing with a home advantage eight years after they last hosted the event in Manchester where the Netherlands came out on top of the men’s event. Germany will be one of the main teams to watch out for as they won the title at the last Championship in Boom, Belgium in 2013.




Belgium have hugely changed their fortunes in recent years, jumping up to fifth in the world after twice being medallists with a silver in Boom in 2013 on home turf and bronze in Manchester in 2007. Keep an eye out for striker Tom Boon, who scored in four out of five games at the last EuroHockey Championship, highly skilled in penalty corners and in attacking play.



England men’s best placement was as Champions in 2009 in Amstelveen, captained by Barry Middleton then as they are now. Silver medallists in Moscow in 1987 and six times bronze medallists, they’ll be relying on their top players holding the midfield – Ashley Jackson and Nick Catlin.



Spain are two times champions, on home soil in Madrid in 1974 and in Leipzig in 2005. Their man to watch is Eduard Tubau, who scored more goals (with 6) than anyone else in either the men’s or women’s competitions in 2013.



France are back in the EuroHockey Championships top flight after finishing runners-up in the 2013 Championship II division, and their best finish was fourth in 1970. The squad is in a period of transition, and one of their secret weapons is now Victor Charlet – he’s one of the newest members of the squad, and he’s already proven to be a high-scorer coming from the World Champion U21s squad and club hockey in Belgium.



The team to beat: current championship holders, eight times champions including at the first ever tournament in 1970 (as West Germany) and four successive titles from 1991 to 2003 – they always deliver well at international tournaments. Named top player in 2013, Germany’s Tobias Hauke is one of the strongest players you’ll find in the men’s competition.



Ireland’s best finish was fifth in Monchengladbach in 2011, and in 2013 they came sixth. They’re going through a rebuild under South African coach Craig Fulton, who brings his experience from having played in two Olympics: 1996 and 2004. They consistently qualify for the competition, so they definitely have what it takes to make it up to the top.



Three times champions in 1983, 1987 and in 2007 when the Championship was last held in England, the Netherlands will be prepared to disappoint the English crowd after taking bronze from them at the last EuroHockey. Their drag-flick specialist is Mink van der Weerden – when he’s behind the ball at the top of the circle, he’s unstoppable!



Much like France, Russia are back in the highest level of the EuroHockey Championships by their position in 2013, winning the Championship II division. Their best place was when they played as the USSR, finishing second in 1983.



Commercial partnership opportunities are currently available – enquire here